Known it is far outside of Ukraine dendrology park "SOFIEVKA" (it is based in 1796) doesn't know to itself equal in our country. Here 206 years the imagination of visitors of park amazes a combination of the genius of landscape gardening art and the technical thought, embodied in surprising fountains, falls, grottoes and the underground rivers which, apparently, have together merged from tremendous beauty a natural landscape.
What the man for the sake of the beloved won't make?! Heroic acts, flowers at beloved feet, infinite serenades at a window, the verses devoted only to It - - unique and unique. And here count Felix Pototsky has decided to present one of the richest people of a XVIII-th century to the beauty to the wife of Sofia, the Greek woman by origin, more than romantic gift of love - - fine park in the city of Uman. Not soul tea in the young wife, Pototsky conceives to put park of fantastic beauty, yes such that was in it and a part of Ellady, the native land of Sofia, and the Champs Elysée, and marvelous plants, sculptures, say, everything that would dispel in a shower favourite homesickness.
The place for park building has been chosen very successfully: the picturesque river, century trees, ravines and streams, a heap of boulders. Pototsky's aide-de-camp military engineer Ludwig Mettsel supervised over works. With 1796 for 1802 serfs dug ponds, the underground river, constructed falls and fountains, laid avenues, transferred huge boulders. National craftsmen have modeled from a granite and plaster art ornaments for architectural constructions. Sculptures were sent from France and Italy. In park trees both local breeds, and exotic, brought of the different c ountries of the world were spread. In total for some years уманские builders and gardeners have created a positive miracle on waste ground, the park has been presented to it in day of its name-day in May, 1802.
Sofia was in indescribable delight.
Park corners are connected with myths and legends of the Ancient Greece and Rome, legends from life of a family of Pototskys. The front entrance in "Sofievku" is decorated by two watchtowers which wreath is borrowed from a temple of the ancient Roman goddess of a home and fire of Vesty in Tivoli. From an input deep into park the shady avenue surrounded with century trees along which the river Kamenka murmurs withdraws. After smooth turn to a look the pavilion of Flora, the goddess of spring and colors opens. This extremely beautiful architectural construction with a white colonnade in Doric style through which the bewitching landscape of the Bottom pond, a terrace of Muses, the Levkadsky rock with a viewing point "Belvedere" and a fountain of "Dragon" opens.
On love island:
From a mouth of a pig-iron snake the water stream beats on height to 18 meters, and a fountain - the biggest and beautiful in "Sofievke", is well-known for ingenious simplicity of the design: any pumps, pressure of water is created at the expense of height difference between Bottom and Top ponds. On the Terpejsky valley, having passed Gromovyj a grotto and a grotto of Venus, it is possible to rise to Top, or Big, a pond, in which center casting up artificial island of Love with Pink pavilion. Here you will admire the Amsterdam sluice and make surprising travel on the underground river Stiks conducting to Dead lake. Along park avenues, in a shade of trees sculptures of ancient philosophers and the Greek gods are established. The harmonous handsome man Apollo admires a pond from a pedestal, the Cupid pulls a bowstring of the onions. One of its arrows also has pierced heart of count Pototsky with love to the beauty of Sofia Vitt.
After S.SHCH.Pototsky's death the park has taken over his wives of Sofia, and after its death the park was inherited by son Alexander.
In 1832, after the Polish revolt which was supported by A.Pototsky, all its manors have been confiscated and transferred the Kiev state chamber.
With 1836 for 1859 the park was in conducting Management of military settlements and Tsaritsyn a garden "was called (informally)", the academician of architecture A.I.Shtakenshnejder for creation of new architectural constructions here has been invited. It is the period of blossoming of park. Many constructions are under construction: the Main entrance gate, the Main avenue is cut, and the park incorporates to a city the first paved street named Garden.
In 1859 the park has passed in conducting the Main school of the gardening translated from Odessa to Uman. The park becomes educational base of school, its flora is enriched; from rare species of plants scientific-estestvovedom V.Pashkevich creates the Formal garden. Now the Formal garden occupies the space about 2 hectares in northern part "Sofievki" and borders in the west on Parternym an amphitheater, and in the south - with the Champs Elysée. In the Formal garden grows about hundred kinds and forms of trees and bushes from 15 till 100 and more years.
After revolution and civil war of "Sofievka" it is renamed into park of a name of III th International, exists at school of gardening which later became technical school, institute, and now Umansky agricultural Academy.
In 1929 of "Sofievka" has been declared by National park, the independent status, and till 1955 it some times переподчиняется to various departments and the ministries is given to it.
During the Great Patriotic War in park many architectural monuments have been destroyed. After clearing of Umani on March, 10th, 1944 the park has renewed the work.
Now here крупнеший the center on an introduction and acclimatization of plants of forest-steppe Pravoberzhnoj of Ukraine. Is more than 2 thousand plants. In park four scientific departments work, is under construction unique in Ukraine of scientific research institute of problems of preservation of prirodno-historical landscapes of Ukraine.
"Sofievka" at any time year is good: and in spring flowering, and in hot summer heat, and in the mellow autumn, and in winter silence...